# TOWNSHIP HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT 211 Palatine, Illinois

## BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR MEETING April 25, 2019 7:30 p.m. Official

A regular meeting of the Board of Education, Township High School District 211, Cook County, Illinois was held on April 25, 2019 at 7:30 p.m. in the G. A. McElroy Administration Center at 1750 South Roselle Road, Palatine, Illinois.

#### **ROLL CALL**

Physically Present: Peter R. Dombrowski, Member

Will Hinshaw, Vice President and Member Anna Klimkowicz, Secretary and Member

Robert J. LeFevre, Jr., Member Steven Rosenblum, Member Edward M. Yung, Member

Mucia A. Burke, President and Member

Present By Other Means: None

Absent: None

Also present were: Superintendent Daniel E. Cates; members of the District administrative staff; interested citizens; and members of the press.

### **Pledge of Allegiance**

President Burke led the Board of Education and the audience in the Pledge of Allegiance.

#### **Recognition – State Award Winners**

Superintendent Cates introduced Director of Athletics and Activities Eric Wenckowski. Mr. Wenckowski introduced William Fremd High School Principal Kurt Tenopir, Assistant Principal Eric Dolen, and English Teacher and Group Interpretation Coach Judy Klingner. Mrs. Klingner introduced and Mr. Tenopir presented medallions to Gage Bachman, Joseph Barrett, Benjamin Calhoun, and Holden Meier for placing third and being named to the all-state cast; and to Abbigayle Bushmole, Diego Camacho, Joseph Corso, Emily Cuthbert, Bailey Dean, Isabella Di Paolo, Matthew Froehling, Kaia Green, Lara Haciosmanoglu, Anthony Hannon, Zoe Hannon, Georgia Hessel, Ambrozia Itellari, Benjamin Jennings, Madison Karlin, Yuhoung Kim, Jade King, Izabela Kopec, Viktor Kopec, Leia Carmen Ladios, Sydney Lenz, Bailey McCarthy, Morgan Miller, Avery Monacella, Ethan Nehls, Ethan Polcyn, Sarah Reichl, Yashwanth Ramanujam, Autumn Rettke, Abigail Rydberg, Nicole Saunders, Brooke Toriani, Miles Toriani, Melissa Wallace, and Adam Wysocki for placing third at the state group interpretation competition.

Mr. Wenckowski introduced Hoffman Estates High School Principal Joshua Schumacher, Assistant Principal Brian Harlan, Varsity Flag Team Co-Sponsor Christine Jenkins, and English Teacher and Varsity Flag Team Co-Sponsor Britany Westby. Mrs. Jenkins and Ms. Westby introduced and Mr.

Schumacher presented medallions to Charlotte McGrath for placing third and being named 2019 rookie of the year; Faith Philip for placing third and being named a midwest color guard circuit scholarship awardee; and to Shelby Arrigo, Joanna Barron-Martinez, Diana Borshch, Hannah Carlson, Ilsa Jamil, Himal Patel, Nishita Patel, Katie Perez, Angela Ramirez, Makayla Solorzano, Hannah Tomita, Alexandra Ungureanu, Victoria Wagner, and Taizha Williams for placing third at the state midwest color guard circuit championship competition.

Mr. Wenckowski introduced Palatine High School Principal Tony Medina; Assistant Principal Michael Alther; Family and Consumer Science Department Chair and Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) Co-Sponsor Kori Hibner; and Family and Consumer Science Teacher and FCCLA Co-Sponsor Kristina Stary. Mrs. Hibner and Mrs. Stary introduced and Mr. Medina presented medallions to Kathleen Barclay for placing first in occupational division of children's literature presentation, Jennifer Kline for placing first in senior division of children's literature presentation, and Caroline Philbin for placing first in interior design at the Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America state competition.

Mr. Wenckowski introduced James. B. Conant High School Principal Julie Nowak; Assistant Principal Mark Langer; and Family and Consumer Sciences Teacher and Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) Sponsor Jacqueline Brown. Mrs. Brown introduced and Mrs. Nowak presented medallions to Norma Betancourt and Paige Zielinski for placing first in fashion construction; Patricia DeMore for placing first in children's literature presentation; and Erin Nelli for placing first in pastry arts – decorated cookie at the Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America state competition.

President Burke extended congratulations, on behalf of the Board of Education, to all of the students here tonight for their achievements.

## **April 2, 2019 School Board Election Official Results**

Mrs. Klimkowicz made a motion, seconded by Mr. Yung, that the official canvass results of the Cook County Clerk's Office for the April 2, 2019 School Board election of Township High School District 211 declaring Steven Rosenblum, Peter R. Dombrowski, Mark J. Cramer, and Kimberly Cavill duly elected members of the Board of Education of Township High School District 211, be accepted as presented; and further, that the official canvass results be entered into the minutes (attached to official minutes).

Candidate	Votes
Steven Rosenblum	10,387*
Peter R. Dombrowski	11,361*
Will Hinshaw	8,789
Mark J. Cramer	9,375*
Matthew Saternus	6,110
Kimberly Cavill	11,357*

<sup>\*</sup>Elected for a four-year term

Aye:	Will Hinshaw Anna Klimkowicz Edward Yung Robert LeFevre Steven Rosenblum Peter Dombrowski Mucia Burke
Nay:	None
The motion carried unanimously.	
Adjournment Sine Die	
There being no further business to co that the meeting adjourn sine die. No one ol	me before the Board of Education, President Burke declared bjected.
The meeting adjourned at 7:53 p.m.	
	Respectfully submitted,
	Secretary, District 211
President, District 211	

On which motion a roll call vote was held with the following results: